Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by GUPhantom on Mon Aug 03, 2009 6:28 pm

Anyone know when the Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview is? Haven't received or seen any announcement yet?

GO PILOTS!!!

GUPhantom
First man off the Bench
First man off the Bench

Number of posts : 544
Location : Tigard
Registration date : 2007-07-11

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by PurplePrideTrumpet on Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:07 pm

Last year it was a week before the opener, I think. My guess is August 15th. And Sophie will score the first goal of the scrimmage at 14 minutes. Razz

PurplePrideTrumpet
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2880
Age : 35
Location : Section 18A, Row 5
Registration date : 2007-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:27 pm

I've got Michelle in the 4th minute.

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by aleppiek on Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:19 am

Fox in the box 7th min.

aleppiek
Starter
Starter

Number of posts : 786
Age : 35
Location : NoPo
Registration date : 2007-11-14

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by PurplePrideTrumpet on Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:19 pm

A reliable source dropped a note in my mailbox.

I predict it will be on Wednesday the 19th, at noon. Wink

PurplePrideTrumpet
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2880
Age : 35
Location : Section 18A, Row 5
Registration date : 2007-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:10 pm

PurplePrideTrumpet wrote:A reliable source dropped a note in my mailbox.

I predict it will be on Wednesday the 19th, at noon. Wink

yeah, but which player? Razz

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by golaso on Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:54 am

...always thought it would be pretty interesting to see a guys vs girls scrimmage during this game...if that game ever were to happen, any predictions on the score?

golaso
Recruit
Recruit

Number of posts : 68
Registration date : 2007-11-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:08 am

golaso wrote:...always thought it would be pretty interesting to see a guys vs girls scrimmage during this game...if that game ever were to happen, any predictions on the score?

I predict a lot of angry season ticket holders if there were any injuries.


There is a thread on BS about the USWNT playing against boys ODP teams (u15) and losing regularly.

http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=929075

The consensus is that the boys just have too much size and speed.

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Guest on Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:13 am

The U20 and U23 women's teams scrimmage U15 & U16 boys teams regularly at their domestic training camps. They seem to do ok against the U15 teams but usually the U16 teams and above are to strong and fast. These games don't get much press so we don't usually hear the details.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by aleppiek on Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:00 pm

Well Geezer, I'm waiting for a rundown.

aleppiek
Starter
Starter

Number of posts : 786
Age : 35
Location : NoPo
Registration date : 2007-11-14

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:23 pm

aleppiek wrote:Well Geezer, I'm waiting for a rundown.

Well. the good news is that Kelsey was playing and looks like she'll be ready to go. I was getting nervous about the concept of pulling a field player off the bench and sticking gloves on her.

The bad news is that she is clearly nowhere near in game shape. Twice a player came in on her 1v1 and the first time Kelsey made a really lame attempt at the stop (to no avail). The second time she got a foot on the ball and deflected it wide, but if you ask me, it was sheer luck.

Bill Irwin was shaking his head.


Maybe it was because the player was under 3 ft tall, but Hey! That's just excuses.

Other than that, everybody played but Kassi.

In the words of the 'SHEED "both teams played hard"

Well, not real hard....


Last edited by Purplegeezer on Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:34 pm; edited 3 times in total

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:29 pm

BTW the first score was Michelle. I'm calling it the fourth minute.....

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by PurplePrideTrumpet on Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:53 pm

It looked like picked up a couple walk-ons today (literally).

It is going to be a very good year.

PurplePrideTrumpet
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2880
Age : 35
Location : Section 18A, Row 5
Registration date : 2007-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

The hot dogs were discusting.........discusting.....

Post by estplnr on Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:39 pm

I didn't even eat ONE....and I eat everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sad.

estplnr
Recruit
Recruit

Number of posts : 54
Registration date : 2008-11-21

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by UPSoccerFanatic on Thu Aug 20, 2009 6:48 pm

I ate TWO. They only looked "discusting" because they were steamed, not grilled. For low end hot dogs, they were as good as any (feel free to interpret that any way you want).

What a great experience for the walk-ons! Next year, I'm bringing Zoey with her soccer shoes. The Geez can bring Zelda!

UPSoccerFanatic
All-WCC
All-WCC

Number of posts : 1701
Age : 71
Location : Portland, Oregon
Registration date : 2007-10-31

View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/rpifordivisioniwomenssoccer/

Back to top Go down

Re: Season Ticket Holder BBQ and Team Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:06 pm

FYI
UPSF and I are planning for the class of 2020- 2025 or so....

I'm now trying to picture a really old ferret for a coach.

This is the best I can come up with.


Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum