Pilot Nation
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

All conference selections

Go down

All conference selections Empty All conference selections

Post by Geezaldinho Tue Nov 15, 2011 5:51 pm

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- Portland Pilots senior defender Ryan Kawulok was voted the 2011 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year and is one three Pilots to land on the all-conference first team, joining senior Michael Nielsen and sophomore Steven Evans. Portland matched Santa Clara for the league-high in first-team selections.

Kawulok, who started all 82 games during his career, helped anchor a Portland defense that was critical during UP’s six-match winning streaking in conference play. The Fort Collins, Colo., native also scored two goals, had two assists and registered a game-winner. He becomes only the second UP player to ever land the league’s defensive player of the year award, joining former goalkeeper Luis Robles (2006).

It’s the fourth all-conference honor for Kawulok, who also landed on the first team as a junior.

Nielsen, a midfielder, caught fire during conference play, when he scored four of his league-high six goals. He also had an assist and two game-winners. It’s the second all-league accolade for Nielsen, who hails from Sandy, Utah.

Evans matched Nielsen for the league high with six goals. The Portland native missed the first five games of the season before also leading the league with three game-winners. The midfielder, who added five assists for a team-best 17 points, was named the WCC Freshman of the Year in 2010.

Portland senior Connor Barbaree, junior Ricardo Carrillo and freshman Derek Boggs all received All-WCC Honorable Mention, while Boggs also landed on the league’s all-freshman team.

Adam Cooper was recognized as WCC Coach of the Year after Saint Mary’s won on the final day to claim its first ever WCC championship. San Diego junior Dan Delgado is the WCC Player of the Year, San Francisco junior Brendan Roslund is the inaugural Goalkeeper of the Year and Clark Phillips from Gonzaga is the Freshman of the Year.

2011 West Coast Conference Player of the Year
Dan Delgado, Jr., MF, San Diego

2011 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year
Ryan Kawulok, So., D, Portland

2011 West Coast Conference Goalkeeper of the Year
Brendan Roslund, Jr., GK, San Francisco

2011 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year
Clark Phillips, F, Gonzaga

2011 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Adam Cooper, Saint Mary’s

2011 All-West Coast Conference First Team
Player, Yr., Pos., School
Mykell Bates, Sr., D, Santa Clara
Agustin Cazarez, Sr., MF, Saint Mary’s
Dan Delgado, Jr., MF, San Diego
Steven Evans , So., MF, Portland
Erik Hurtado, Jr., MF, Santa Clara
Artur Jozkowicz, Sr., F/MF, Loyola Marymount
Ryan Kawulok, So., D, Portland
Elijah Galbraith-Knapp, So., D, San Diego
Michael Nielsen, Sr., MF, Portland
Brendan Roslund , Jr., GK, San Francisco
Brandon Zimmerman, Sr., MF, Santa Clara

2011 All-West Coast Conference Second team
Player, Yr., Pos., School
Miguel Aguilar, Fr., F, San Francisco
Malcolm Alugas, Sr., F, Saint Mary’s
Jose Cabeza, Jr., MF, Saint Mary’s
Phil Da Silva, Sr., F/MF, Loyola Marymount
Julian Godinez, RS-Sr., MF, Saint Mary’s
Nick Hamer, So., MF, Gonzaga
Doug Herrick, Sr., GK, Saint Mary’s
Tyler Krumpe, Sr., D, Loyola Marymount
James Matern, RS-So., MF, Gonzaga
Josh Phillips, So., D, Gonzaga
Stephen Posa , Sr., F, San Diego

2011 All-West Coast Conference Honorable Mention
Connor Barbaree (Portland); Charles Blase (San Diego); Derek Boggs (Portland); Ricardo Carrillo (Portland); Wesley Culver (Santa Clara); Justin Grider (Saint Mary’s); Larry Jackson (Santa Clara); Vegard Karlsen (San Francisco); Eric Masch (Santa Clara); Logan McDaniel (Loyola Marymount); Conor McFadden (San Diego); John McFarlin (Loyola Marymount); Connor Mitchell (Santa Clara); Trevor Newquist (Saint Mary’s); Kevin Orozco (San Francisco); Clark Phillips (Gonzaga); David Romney (San Francisco)

2011 All-West Coast Conference Freshman Team
Player, Pos., School
Miguel Aguilar, F, San Francisco
Derek Boggs, MF, Portland
Thomas Fiskerstrand, D, San Diego
Riley Hanley, MF, Saint Mary’s
John McFarlin, MF, Loyola Marymount
Nate Pacheco, F, Gonzaga
Clark Phillips, F, Gonzaga
David Romney, D, San Francisco
Dylan Seedman, F, Loyola Marymount
Glenn Vass, MF, Santa Clara
Brian Visser, D, San Francisco

I just wish Ryan WAS a sophomore...

congrats to them all.
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 11819
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum