PantherU.com Preview

View previous topic View next topic Go down

PantherU.com Preview

Post by PantherU on Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:10 pm

Liftoff: Milwaukee at Portland

I hope I did your players justice. Wish I could have made the trip.

PantherU
Recruit
Recruit

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2010-11-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by mattywizz on Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:49 am

Nicely done. Looking forward to the start of the season.

mattywizz
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1230
Age : 34
Location : La Crosse, WI
Registration date : 2007-07-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by MesaPilot1 on Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:55 am

Kramer's not much of a banger may be a little off the mark....I think you could ask Omar Sandman, Josh H, Sacre or any Zag who's tougher Luke or Kramer??? Who's the finesse player...definitely Luke.

Who has been the team leader in skinned knees, elbows taken and thrown...who's been Revs heart and soul like the way he played with his limited skil set back in the day at Stanford....I believe we all know who is the "muscle" & grit inside so JARED & Luke have so many easy shots or Luke or Nik had easy rrebound opportunities....Kramer wa s occupying most of the inside with his DELICATE play....lol. REV try's to get big JASONN to play that way & JASONN is coming right along nicely Very Happy

EXCELLENT PREVIEW with the exception CALLING OUR TOUGHEST PLAYER WEAK INSIDE and more of a finesse player, GOOD ARTICLE,,& let the game begin... cheers

Well written piece rivaling our own stud newsman STONEYS articles!!!

Mesapilot1-beautiful golf weather today in ORANGE COUNTY, CA....yippee!!!

MesaPilot1
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1104
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by MesaPilot1 on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:00 am

PantherU wrote:Liftoff: Milwaukee at Portland

I hope I did your players justice. Wish I could have made the trip.

Great article, with the exception of Kramer, me nice to fit that Bucks & Jack-Luke angle in....Pilots only go as far as JARED & Luke take them this year...pt guard is still a major concern...especially after TJ was so reliable the last two years Rolling Eyes

MesaPilot1
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1104
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by PANTHERfan on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:12 am

Greetings from a panther fan out in Portland. Can anyone direct our fan group to a good pre game bar near the arena?

Sorry if I posted this message twice. My original post didn't seem to show up.

Can't wait for tipoff!

PANTHERfan
Recruit
Recruit

Number of posts : 1
Registration date : 2010-11-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by Woodless! on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:19 am

Yes, go to the Fixin' Too in St. John's...

Woodless!
Bench Warmer
Bench Warmer

Number of posts : 152
Age : 37
Registration date : 2010-01-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by DTLegend on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:44 am

Damn I miss the T-room

DTLegend
Pilot Nation Regular
Pilot Nation Regular

Number of posts : 367
Age : 28
Location : Denver
Registration date : 2008-04-16

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by Geezaldinho on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:51 am

The lucky Labrador brewpub on Killingsworth.

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by Stonehouse on Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:58 am

Depends on what you're looking for, but if you are looking for some decent food, I would recommend Leisure on Lombard:

http://www.leisurepublichouse.com/

The T Room is the closest (Portsmouth and Lombard) it's very much a dive bar, but if you're looking for a beer and burger, it will suit your needs just fine.

The Fixin' To is a good spot as well (free shuffleboard!) and of course there's the St. John's Pub, a McMenamin's.

Stonehouse
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2990
Age : 34
Location : Portland, OR
Registration date : 2007-06-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by Woodless! on Fri Nov 12, 2010 10:00 am

Fixin' To, despite being a hipster-ish bar, is probably the best place to watch sports (other than Tom's) in North Portland.

Woodless!
Bench Warmer
Bench Warmer

Number of posts : 152
Age : 37
Registration date : 2010-01-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by PurplePrideTrumpet on Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:15 pm

Stonehouse wrote:
The T Room is the closest (Portsmouth and Lombard) it's very much a dive bar, but if you're looking for a beer and burger, it will suit your needs just fine.
Nah. You want a dive bar, you want to go all the way and visit Slim's in St. John's. Good for World Cup watching though.

PurplePrideTrumpet
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2880
Age : 35
Location : Section 18A, Row 5
Registration date : 2007-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by ShipstadPilot11 on Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:46 pm

Soccer kick-off is 6 hours after the tip of the basketball game.

ShipstadPilot11
Starter
Starter

Number of posts : 899
Age : 28
Location : P-Town, Oregon
Registration date : 2009-02-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by MesaPilot1 on Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:19 am

Being an out-of-stater my self I have stoney & pilotnut to thank for hosting me to my initial Chiles Center visit...the T-room is a must for the"hardcore" college bar visit, and STONEY AN PILOTNUT were gracious enough to introduce me to a quieter, funky, college atmosphere lounge nearby (the name of the place escapes me) .I'm forever in dept to these 2 gracious guys for their hospitality during the intial visit back in spring of 08....don't forget to meet the illusive Geezer and the other folks on Pilotnation at Pregame and halftime at the middle level of the CHILES CTR. ...BOY, do those pilot supporters know how to have a good time win or lose...their gracious fans who had to endure alot of losing between the Chavez era and Revs current winning teams....AZ Wildcat BB supporters could learn a little thing or two from our Pilot fans about patience and dignity during trying times /coaching turnovers in my humble opinion. Very Happy

Mesapilot1 Cool

MesaPilot1
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1104
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by onetouchfutbol on Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:18 am

MesaPilot1 wrote:Being an out-of-stater my self I have stoney & pilotnut to thank for hosting me to my initial Chiles Center visit...the T-room is a must for the"hardcore" college bar visit, and STONEY AN PILOTNUT were gracious enough to introduce me to a quieter, funky, college atmosphere lounge nearby (the name of the place escapes me) .I'm forever in dept to these 2 gracious guys for their hospitality during the intial visit back in spring of 08....don't forget to meet the illusive Geezer and the other folks on Pilotnation at Pregame and halftime at the middle level of the CHILES CTR. ...BOY, do those pilot supporters know how to have a good time win or lose...their gracious fans who had to endure alot of losing between the Chavez era and Revs current winning teams....AZ Wildcat BB supporters could learn a little thing or two from our Pilot fans about patience and dignity during trying times /coaching turnovers in my humble opinion. Very Happy

Mesapilot1 Cool

Not to mention the losing we endured during the pre-Chavez era... I remember the days of one pointguard throwing a pass and hitting a forward in the back of the head while trying to lead the fast break. I'll say this though. That pointguard persevered and is now the highest paid and most famous Pilot ever in Erik Spoelstra. UP students are goal oriented, persevere, and often have the last laugh. Smile

I went to a game when our team got quite toasted last season (losing to UW by 30 in Seattle), and one of our posters here called the game "old school" Pilots basketball. But, thankfully, things have changed. The only game on our schedule that I personally feel like we have almost no chance of winning is the game against Kentucky...because once again they have 3-6 players who will likely go pro. But, I will say this Rev does have the ability to outcoach Calipari, and that leaves me intrigued as a fan and still wanting to watch...

That's the refreshing thing about posting about men's basketball vs womens soccer. Our posters are not spoiled by success over here, and we'll likely never take it for granted.*

onetouchfutbol
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2203
Age : 45
Location : Seattle, WA
Registration date : 2008-10-05

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: PantherU.com Preview

Post by wrv on Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:17 am

Yep, little danger of taking it for granted . . .not with the decade that preceded Reveno . . .of course, the women's soccer crowd might argue their enjoying it, not taking it for granted.

wrv
Starter
Starter

Number of posts : 824
Registration date : 2007-05-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum