2012 Previews

View previous topic View next topic Go down

2012 Previews

Post by PurplePrideTrumpet on Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:12 pm

Let's start with Chris Henderson's, hot off the press:

http://www.allwhitekit.com/?p=9996

PurplePrideTrumpet
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2880
Age : 35
Location : Section 18A, Row 5
Registration date : 2007-11-24

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Geezaldinho on Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:36 pm

Didn't know we had a Senior...

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by A_Fan on Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:41 pm

Yes, Taylor is a senior this season.

I guess he's not counting Dees as a potential field player!

A_Fan
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1432
Location : The country east of Hillsboro.
Registration date : 2007-09-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Geezaldinho on Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:08 pm

A_Fan wrote:Yes, Taylor is a senior this season.

!

You are such a bummer...

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by A_Fan on Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:53 pm

It's the way I was raised, so it's my parent's fault.

A_Fan
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1432
Location : The country east of Hillsboro.
Registration date : 2007-09-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by purple passion on Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:06 am

Topdrawer Soccer's Top 64 rankings for preseason are out. UP did not make the top 64 list, but Portland State did...at number 62.

Stanford topped the list and our friends at UND are number 3. This week's opponent is number 8 and the highest WCC team is Santa Clara at 16.

The poll is at: http://www.topdrawersoccer.com/college-soccer/college-soccer-tournament-ranking/women/?periodId=75

purple passion
Pilot Nation Regular
Pilot Nation Regular

Number of posts : 321
Age : 70
Location : Near Tiffeny's high school
Registration date : 2009-10-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Harry Redknapp on Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:11 am

I'm not hugely optimistic about the prospects for the coming season but I'm pretty sure UP is a better team than Portland State?

Harry Redknapp
Starter
Starter

Number of posts : 753
Age : 61
Location : NE Portland
Registration date : 2007-09-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by UPSoccerFanatic on Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:05 am

Top Drawer Soccer's list is not exactly rankings. It is the teams the writer thinks will make the NCAA Tournament, including the conference champions that are automatic qualifiers. TDS is picking Portland State to win the Big Sky Conference championship. But, they are not picking the Pilots to win the WCC or to get an at large selection.

TDS does not have a great reputation among Division I women's soccer experts.

UPSoccerFanatic
All-WCC
All-WCC

Number of posts : 1701
Age : 71
Location : Portland, Oregon
Registration date : 2007-10-31

View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/rpifordivisioniwomenssoccer/

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Geezaldinho on Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:27 am

I haven't checked this year, but in past years the early season list didn't even included a team from every automatic bid conference, which of course is a requirement for a tournament field.


Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by purple passion on Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:40 am

Soccer America likes Duke...picks Santa Clara and Pepperdine out of the WCC.

Top 25 preseason:

http://www.socceramerica.com/article/47771/soccer-america-womens-preseason-top-25.html

purple passion
Pilot Nation Regular
Pilot Nation Regular

Number of posts : 321
Age : 70
Location : Near Tiffeny's high school
Registration date : 2009-10-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by DoubleDipper on Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:02 pm

purple passion wrote:Soccer America likes Duke...picks Santa Clara and Pepperdine out of the WCC.
You can set your DVR to record Santa Clara at Stanford live at 7 PM on Friday on the new PAC-12 network -- Ch 720 on Portland area Comcast HD.

DoubleDipper
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 6250
Location : Across the Bridge
Registration date : 2011-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Pilots on TV

Post by DoubleDipper on Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:36 am

The "only" nationally televised UP game I could find is the UP at USD game on October 19 @ 8PM on ESPNU.

It could be pivotal!

DoubleDipper
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 6250
Location : Across the Bridge
Registration date : 2011-11-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Indigo Kid on Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:45 pm


Indigo Kid
Pilot Nation Regular
Pilot Nation Regular

Number of posts : 322
Location : Vancouver, WA
Registration date : 2008-12-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by ejjqb on Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:05 pm

Paul Linman had a nice interview with Garrett on KEX at 7:40 this morning. Coach sounds very positive about the upbeat attitude of the team this year-almost sounded like he was saying it was better than last year in a way. He's really high on the frosh, as any coach should be, but clearly sounded less cautious than interviews I heard last year. Let's hope and pray that he's sensing things correctly. Can't wait until tomorrow night!

ejjqb
Bench Warmer
Bench Warmer

Number of posts : 114
Registration date : 2007-09-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Guest on Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:18 pm

DoubleDipper wrote:The "only" nationally televised UP game I could find is the UP at USD game on October 19 @ 8PM on ESPNU.

It could be pivotal!

I noticed that article on the WCC website about the televised games. Really, the WCC should be thanking BYU and the Pac-12 for creating their own networks, because ours was the only game on ESPN and only 2-3 more were on Fox Soccer.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by A_Fan on Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:47 pm

The Oregon Live article forgot to point out that OSU's Jenna Richardson is playing on the Canadian U-20 team in Japan and won't be at the game on Monday.

A_Fan
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1432
Location : The country east of Hillsboro.
Registration date : 2007-09-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by UPSoccerFanatic on Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:56 pm

ejjqb wrote:Paul Linman had a nice interview with Garrett on KEX at 7:40 this morning. Coach sounds very positive about the upbeat attitude of the team this year-almost sounded like he was saying it was better than last year in a way. He's really high on the frosh, as any coach should be, but clearly sounded less cautious than interviews I heard last year. Let's hope and pray that he's sensing things correctly. Can't wait until tomorrow night!

I think the staff is thinking we will have a better year this year than last, notwithstanding what other prognosticators think. I agree. I think this year is all about "team" and it will make a big difference.

UPSoccerFanatic
All-WCC
All-WCC

Number of posts : 1701
Age : 71
Location : Portland, Oregon
Registration date : 2007-10-31

View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/rpifordivisioniwomenssoccer/

Back to top Go down

Re: 2012 Previews

Post by Geezaldinho on Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:32 pm

A_Fan wrote:The Oregon Live article forgot to point out that OSU's Jenna Richardson is playing on the Canadian U-20 team in Japan and won't be at the game on Monday.

I think Mondays OSU team will be quite different. their other great Canadian, Buckland, is also out for the year with an ACL.

And they graduated a starting keeper and 3/4 of their backplane line, and think the fourth player is hurt.
But I still expect a very good squad.

First is UNC. They will always be good. It will be a real test to see where we are.

I watched the UP team or a few minutes tonight. Dani practiced with the team.

Geezaldinho
Pilot Nation Legend
Pilot Nation Legend

Number of posts : 10316
Location : Hopefully, having a Malbec on the square in Cafayate, AR
Registration date : 2007-04-28

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum