Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by Stonehouse on Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:24 am

Hey everyone... it's game day!

There is a really good article in today's O, recapping the season and talking about how the team has really come together:

http://www.oregonlive.com/sports/oregonian/index.ssf?/base/sports/1195187165242570.xml&coll=7&thispage=1

Sounds like the team and the coaches are focused on doing all the little things right and winning a third trophy is definitely the goal.

Also, the note on the bottom answers some questions about redshirts, including speculating about Megan going for a sixth year:

Smith said Sweeney, a sophomore, and Rachael Rapinoe, a senior, will redshirt this season. Reserve defender Korie Nicholson, a junior, is also likely to redshirt, he said. Megan Rapinoe, a junior with aspirations of joining the U.S. national team, could request another year of eligibility but likely won't, Smith said.

Stonehouse
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2990
Age : 34
Location : Portland, OR
Registration date : 2007-06-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by FANatic on Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:14 am

Thanks for the redshirt info, Stonehouse. The actual newspaper I got at home this morning had the aticle in it, but not that last note on redshirts. Very Happy

FANatic
Playmaker
Playmaker

Number of posts : 1238
Age : 76
Location : Portland
Registration date : 2007-09-14

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by Rochin54 on Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:22 am

Yep, like coach said, the team knew that they were going to be shipped somewhere, they've been through it before. This is just business on the path to achieving our goal.

Rochin54
First man off the Bench
First man off the Bench

Number of posts : 668
Location : Suburbia
Registration date : 2007-04-30

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by thepuck on Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:35 am

I'm a little disappointed that it looks like Meg won't be returning next year... but i guess I can't fault her reasoning.

thepuck
Recruit
Recruit

Number of posts : 80
Age : 30
Registration date : 2007-05-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by aleppiek on Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:40 am

thepuck wrote:I'm a little disappointed that it looks like Meg won't be returning next year... but i guess I can't fault her reasoning.

If I am not mistaken, she will come back next year, but will not take a medical exemption to play in 09 with UP

aleppiek
Starter
Starter

Number of posts : 785
Age : 35
Location : NoPo
Registration date : 2007-11-14

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by Stonehouse on Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:51 am

Yep... aleppiek is correct. She will definitely be here for the 2008 season, but is probably not going to apply for a sixth-year of eligibility for 2009.

Stonehouse
All-American
All-American

Number of posts : 2990
Age : 34
Location : Portland, OR
Registration date : 2007-06-07

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Today's Oregonian Article/Preview

Post by thepuck on Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:14 am

oh... I get it now.

thepuck
Recruit
Recruit

Number of posts : 80
Age : 30
Registration date : 2007-05-08

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum