Pilot Nation
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

+2
Harry Redknapp
fan from afar
6 posters

Go down

newbie Empty newbie

Post by fan from afar Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:08 pm

So there I was last week, googling for info on RPI, and I was directed to Pilot Nation. I did some reading. Wow! First reaction was FINALLY - I understand the NCAA policy on home games for the first 2 rounds. Second reaction, these guys are seriously OBSESSED!! Third reaction, how do I join?

First step - a catchy name. I thought about Pontificate Pilot, but too long and hard to spell - also sounds too much like that other guy. Paunchy Pilot? Pompous Pilot? I finally settled on a more descriptive handle, since I live in upstate New York.

My daughter lives in Portland, and I have been visiting her once a year. I saw two games last year, and two this fall (UCLA, USC), and I'm hooked. I'm a retired coach, and I just love the way they play and the way Garrett coaches.

Question - For the past few years, I understand the Pilots were seeded but had to travel. Was this because there was not another unseeded team within the allowable distance, as per the rules, or did Portland just get the shaft?
fan from afar
fan from afar
First man off the Bench
First man off the Bench

Number of posts : 593
Registration date : 2008-11-09

Back to top Go down

newbie Empty Re: newbie

Post by Harry Redknapp Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:15 pm

Combination of both. Pilots got screwed and there were not enough teams in distance. NCAA has changed rules so that now it just has to be one team, WSU for us this year, unless you are a #1 seed in which case you get to be home.

Unless NCAA decides to mess with you anyway.

So although we'd like to have been a #1 seed and had home field advantage as long as possible, at least we got to be home until QF, and maybe longer if we win out and Stanford does not.